Help Elect Environmental Protectors

According to a survey conducted by Mason-Dixon Polling & Research earlier this year, only 1% of Tar Heel voters cited the environment and climate change as the most important issues facing the country today—falling below “Other” and “Not Sure.” But to maintain North Carolina’s high quality of life and to continue growing our state’s economy, we must protect the air, water, and natural resources that make North Carolina special. This is why we need now more than ever to elect candidates who will make the environment a political priority.
In the 2008 elections, CCNC helped elect 71 of the 73 candidates we endorsed. These same elected officials did the job by ensuring a pro-conservation outcome for 10 of the 12 environmental bills Conservation Council worked on during the last legislative session. Please take a look at our 2010 Legislative Scorecard at http://www.conservationcouncilnc.org/  for a complete record of the key issues scored and how your representative voted on each.

We need your help once again this year. Your vote for our endorsed, pro-conservation candidates listed below and a gift to the Conservation PAC are two of the most important things you can do to help protect North Carolina’s environment, the health of our communities, and our economy.

With the General Election right around the corner, your contribution today will help us change the way environmental decisions are made in North Carolina. Your gift of $50, $100, $250 or $1,000 will make a huge impact, but gifts of any amount are appreciated.

Please help us elect leaders who stand up for conservation and successfully ensure a pro-environment majority in the NC General Assembly. Together, we will pass strong environmental policies for North Carolina.

Sincerely,  Carrie Clark, Executive Director

P.S. Anti-environmental interests are spending more money in this election than ever before. Help us level the playing field by making your gift to the Conservation PAC today!
Remember early voting starts today October 14 and continues through October 30. You can find your early voter site at ncvoterinfo.org/

2010 Conservation PAC General Election Endorsements

North Carolina State Senate Races

District 1 – Sen. Marc Basnight, D-Dare

District 2 –Barbara Garrity-Blake, D-Craven

District 7 – Sen. Doug Berger, D-Franklin

District 9 – Jim Leutze, D-New Hanover

District 12 – Jody McCloud, D-Johnston

District 15 – Sen. Neal Hunt, R-Wake

District 16 – Sen. Josh Stein, D-Wake

District 17 – Sen. Richard Stevens, R-Wake

District 18 – Sen. Bob Atwater, D-Chatham

District 19 – Sen. Margaret Dickson, D-Cumberland

District 21 – Eric Mansfield, D-Cumberland

District 23 – Sen. Ellie Kinnaird, D-Orange

District 27 – Sen. Don Vaughan, D-Guilford

District 28 – Gladys Robinson, D-Guilford

District 36 – Sen. Fletcher Hartsell, R-Cabarrus

District 37 – Sen. Dan Clodfelter, D-Meck.

District 40 – Sen. Malcolm Graham, D-Meck.

District 44 – Beth Jones D-Burke

District 45 – Sen. Steve Goss, D-Watauga

District 49 – Sen. Martin Nesbitt, D-Buncombe

North Carolina State House Races

District 3 – Rep. Alice Underhill, D-Craven

District 5 – Rep. Annie Mobley, D-Bertie

District 7 – Rep. Angela Bryant, D-Halifax

District 9 – Rep. Marion McLawhorn, D-Pitt

District 16 – Rep. Carolyn Justice, R-New Hanover

District 19 – Rep. Danny McComas, R-New Hanover

District 20 – Rep. Dewey Hill, D-Columbus

District 21 – Rep. Larry Bell, D-Sampson

District 23 – Rep. Joe Tolson, D-Edgcombe

District 24 – Rep. Jean Farmer-Butterfield, D-Wilson

District 29 – Rep. Larry Hall, D-Durham

District 30 – Rep. Paul Luebke, D-Durham

District 33 – Rep. Rosa Gill, D-Wake

District 34 – Rep. Grier Martin, D-Wake

District 35 – Rep. Jennifer Weiss, D-Wake

District 36 – Robin Anderson, D-Wake

District 37 – Debra McHenry, D-Wake

District 38 – Rep. Deborah Ross, D-Wake

District 40 – Violet Rhinehart, D-Wake

District 41 – Rep. Chris Heagarty, D-Wake

District 44 – Rep. Diane Parfitt, D-Cumberland

District 45 – Rep. Rick Glazier, D-Cumberland

District 50 – Rep. Bill Faison, D-Orange

District 54 – Rep. Joe Hackney, D-Orange

District 55 – Rep. Winkie Wilkins, D-Person

District 56 – Rep. Verla Insko, D-Orange

District 57 – Rep. Pricey Harrison, D-Guilford

District 58 – Rep. Alma Adams, D-Guilford

District 63 – Rep. Alice Bordsen, D-Alamance

District 81 – Rep. Hugh Holliman, D-Davidson

District 85 – Beth Ostgaard, D-McDowell

District 93 – Rep. Cullie Tarleton, D-Ashe

District 99 – Rodney Moore, D-Meck.

District 100 – Rep. Tricia Cotham, D-Meck.

District 102 – Rep. Becky Carney, D-Meck.

District 103 – Ann Newman, D-Meck.

District 104 – Rep. Ruth Samuelson, R-Meck.

District 106 – Rep. Martha Alexander, D-Meck.

District 107 – Rep. Kelly Alexander, D-Meck.

District 114 – Rep. Susan Fisher, D-Buncombe

District 115 – Patsy Keever, D-Buncombe

District 117 – Chuck McGrady, R-Henderson

District 118 – Rep. Ray Rapp, D-Madison

District 119 – Rep. Phil Haire, D-Jackson

No comments: